Richfield Drivers Education 2017-2018 Classroom & Behind the Wheel
Richfield Community Education offers a safe, high quality driver training program approved by the State of Minnesota Department of Public Safety to meet the requirements of 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of Behind-the-Wheel. Our instructors are licensed school teachers with special certification in Driver Education from the State of Minnesota. How To Get Your Driver License (ages 15-17)Classroom Instruction: at age 15, students are eligible to register and attend the classroom portion of the training program. Students must attend all 30 hours of the training to be eligible for the next step of training.Pass the Classroom Training: After completing 30 hours of classroom, receive a blue card to be presented at the time of the permit test (must be registered for a Behind The Wheel program in order to receive the blue card). Those not registered for a Behind The Wheel program receive a letter of completion for future behind the wheel training.Get Your Driving Permit: Arranged independently at a Minnesota Drivers and Vehicle Services location. You will need the blue card, appropriate ID, social security number, corrective lenses (if needed), and fee for the permit test..Schedule Behind the Wheel: After receiving the permit, schedule six hours of Behind-the-Wheel. Notify the Community Education office when ready to begin the Behind The Wheel training and an instructor will contact you to arrange driving appointments. Typically you will drive three times for two hours each, as arranged individually.Complete Behind the Wheel Instruction: Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) consists of one instructor and one student in our school district vehicle. After completion of the required 6 hours, receive a white card necessary for the license test.Practice driving for 6 months. Minnesota law requires a student have a permit for six months and maintain a driving log with a parent/guardian. The driving log must be submitted at the time of the road test. Schedule the road test at a Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services location. Students must be 16 years old to take the road test. The road test needs to be scheduled with Minnesota Drivers and Vehicle Services, bring white card, proof of insurance, fee, permit, social security number and corrective lenses (if needed).
Local opportunities to connect, learn and grow. Course offerings are typically announced three times per year in mid-August, mid-December, and early March.
Early Childhood Family Education classes are offered in Richfield at the Central Education Center. Fees are based on a sliding scale, and no one is turned away for inability to pay!
Classes for parent and child are available each semester. Join a current-year weekly class or a new, one time event.
Classes for parent and child, age birth to age 5, are available now for registration. Age eligibility is determined by child's age on September 1, 2018. Fees are based on a sliding scale, and no one is turned away for inability to pay!